Views: 174


Creation date: 2007

Before April 2007, Bamenda 3 sub-divisional council was a part of the Bamenda urban council. In April 2007, the presidential decree N° 2007/115 of 23rd April 2007 was signed, splitting Bamenda urban council into three council areas. Bamenda 3 sub-divisional council (Nkwen and Ndzah) went operational on the 1st of August 2007, and by the 28th of September 2007, its doors were opened to the public.


According to the 2005 census, the population of Bamenda 3 council was 110,253 inhabitants. With an average annual groth rate of 2.54% from 2005 to 2019, the population of Bamenda 3 council by 2019 is projected  to be 228,190 inhabitants.
Bamenda 3 council has two main clans, Nkwen and Ndzah. The Nkwen people are part of Tikari group, and the Ndzah people are believed to be part of the Baforchu (Mbu) people. From time immerorial, these groups have been inter-marrying between themselves and theirs neighbours of Bafut, Mankon, Mendankwe and Bambili. 


Since 2013, Bamenda 3 council is administrated by Mayor M. Fongu Cletus Tanwe. Officially, he is supposed to be assisted by 2 deputy mayors. However, he is being assisted only by the 2nd deputy Joseph Koti Tita. This is because the 1st deputy, Bati Rose Lailam, died in 2015. She was replaced by Fondzenyuy John Lukong, who also died in 2017. Since then, that post has been vacant.


The Bamenda 3 sub-divisional council have a total surface area of 22.9 km². Bamenda 3 is bounded:
– To the East by Tubah Municipality,
– To the South by Bamenda 1 Municipality,
– To the West by Bamenda 2 Municipality,
– And to the North by Bafut Municipality.
Bamenda 3 council is the gateway to and from the Divisions of Boyo, Ngohkentunja, Bui and Donga Mantung.