Views: 226


Creation date: 2007

The Bamenda II Council created by Presidential Decrees N° 2007/115 of 13 April 2007 and N°2007/117 of 24th April 2007 has quested for development since then. With the acceleration and deepening of the decentralisation process in Cameroon by relevant texts i.e. Law N° 2004/017 of 22nd July 2004 on the orientation of Decentralization and Law N° 2004/018 of 22nd July 2004 to lay down rules applicable to Councils respectively as well as subsequent instruments thereto.


Bamenda II had a projected population of 261,285 persons in 2019. The population density is approximately 176.3 p/km². The urban area is densely populated and the density decreases towards the urban periphery and rural areas. The high density is associated with the concentration of administrative, health and educational and socio-economic institutions.
Bamenda II Council, is made up of four villages (Mankon, Nsongwa, Chomba and Mbatu). The villages have as main traditional Institution, the “Quifor” which is the main traditional structure for men.


Since the legislative and municipal elections of 2020, the municipality has been led by the Mayor, Mr CHENWI PETER. The mayor is asisted in his work by First Deputy Mr TZE LOUIS ANQWAFO, and Second Deputy Mrs JOKO FREDA NCHEA


The surface area of Bamenda II Council is estimated at 1,482km2. The Bamenda II Council area is delineated by the Bamenda II Sub-division, one of the seven administrative units (Sub-divisions) of Mezam Division in the North West Region of Cameroon. It lies between latitudes 5°52’52” and 6°4’03” north of the equator and longitudes 10°2’02” and 10°10’10” east of the Greenwich meridian. This council area is bordered by six councils, Bafut to the North, Bamenda III and Bamenda I Councils to the East, Santa Council to the South and then Bali and Mbengwi Councils to the West.